Cauliflower carbonara

This week’s recipe really excites me. I’m so excited to share it with you (it is not my own thanks Veganuary for ur inspiration) and I recommend all my recipes but again it is because it is so simple, inexpensive and so good I open my lunchbox or tip the pan into a bowl and wolf it down.

I came across the recipe for ‘creamy cauliflower sauce’ in January on the Veganuary site and I never had the chance to make it, but it sounded pretty cool, and versatile – 5 varieties already! So with cauliflower still in season by February (it is here for March too!) I decided to give it a go. The name was my invention, hope you appreciate the irony. We all need a reminder of life’s paradoxical, contradictory nature sometimes, and here’s your dose for the day.

DSCN2397

The slightly sweet nuttiness, the reassuring hunks of cauliflower tree here and there, white silky sauce: the consistency of the sauce is phenomenal. I found the texture a bit thin so I added a bit of cornflour mixed with water, but I found it thickened the longer it was in the fridge. I ate it cold, I froze it: this thing can go everywhere and then nowhere with you. I think whole wheat pasta is a perfect companion thanks to the grainy texture that sticks and frolicks with the near-fluffy sauce. If you try or have tried this please oh please let me know your thoughts!

DSCN2393

1 small cauliflower

1 can (400ml) coconut milk

1 teaspoon sea salt

1 heaped teaspoon ground coriander

Half a veg stock cube/asafoetida

Pinch of pepper

  1. Chop cauliflower and cook it in the coconut milk by bringing it to the boil and then letting it simmer.
  2. Add your seasoning (in my case veg cube and asafoetida)
  3. The recipe from Veganuary suggests adding crushed cardamom seeds but if you don’t have these (I didn’t) all is by no means lost.
  4. I also don’t eat very much garlic because it gives me heartburn, but adding crushed garlic is also recommended!
  5. When the cauliflower is soft, take it off the boil and let it cool slightly.
  6. Blend it (I used a hand blender) to a consistency you like – I left some cauliflower trees still intact.
  7. Add what you like! Last time I had it I added mushrooms to my whole wheat pasta and this one has broccoli added to it.

DSCN2394

Leave a Reply

