Vegan vibez

This week’s blog brings to you some of my reflections on my vegan month. This may not be of any use to you if you’re a long-term vegan and of course I hope I do not come across as patronising. However, for some peeps reading this, my musings might echo some of the thoughts flitting through your heads and who knows, Febbie the veggie month may become your jam…

  1. I need to sort out my pronunciation of this month. Because telling people I am doing Veganuary sounds gross to me, whereas Veganuary is much kinder on the ears. How do the rest of y’all pronounce it?
  2. I have fallen deeply and irrevocably in love with tofu. I know its environmental record isn’t exactly squeaky clean so I’m not chowing it down for breakfast, lunch and dinner, but its texture is really comforting and contrary to popular opinion I think it is pretty hunky even without seasoning.
  3. Going animal free is not expensive – I have never spend inordinate amounts of money on food but I have not noticed any increase in my food shop. When there are promotions this helps: 2 for £2 Alpro coconut yoghurts hiya.
  4. There are so many biscuits that surprised me by being vegan: chocolate chip Hobnobs (?!), Jammy Dodgers, Oreos and Coop bakery doughnuts.
  5. Eating out does not cause issues. Ok, Meatcure might not be so feasible. But I went to a lovely Indian restaurant called Kayal’s in Leamington which was delicious, and most of the restaurant menus I’ve been perusing have vegan-friendly options.
  6. I have not had to change my eating habits too much. The ‘bumpiest’ transition was moving from cows’ milk to other milks, but oat milk and coconut milk have been great pals of mine this month.
  7. There are some moments when I’m temptation strikes: my friend and I baked a carrot cake for our friend’s birthday and I watched as three eggs went into the mixture, and I lovingly spread cream cheese icing on top. Then I served wedges of it out alongside lime and coconut cake while I consoled myself with an Oreo. But when I am lucky enough to be able to make food choices that can help the environment I’d say it is worth it.
  8. The foodie community has soo much inspiration it’s proving to be quite a distraction!
  9. My world in terms of tea has exploded with colours and taste: my two faves atm: cinnamon, and salted caramel.
  10. Even when you’re exhausted, there is always something you can make. Last night I ate a bean burger with asparagus and chickpeas which is a bit eclectic, but it was all delicious.

I have little desire to stuff a burger down my throat and what I thought I’d find most difficult, the loss of an English breakfast cuppa (yes, I fit that stereotype), has not really crossed my mind. Cheers to that!!

2 thoughts on “Vegan vibez

  1. Pingback: Chilli con tofu, see ya Veganuary – …or failing that, food

Leave a Reply

