Spinchickmushpot curry

Happy New Year! Things that have changed since the dawn of 2016: I can now say next year I’m going to be 24. This time of year calls on me, and probably you, to set yourself a task and strive to achieve it with as much resolve as you can muster, giving you a glow of warmth when you achieve it.

One of my favourite French novels (Plonger by Ono-Dit-Biot) evokes the sea beautifully and I loved losing myself in its velvety passages. I decided to leaf through some pages again to find some inspiration for my New Years’ Rezzy and I think I did:

Never neglect your body but thrill it, elicit the most beautiful sensations from it, train it until it is beautiful, glowing, svelte, so it weaves in and out of the waters. Make it shine. Expect everything from it.

Gosh. Quite a lot of aims then – but all positive, and maybe giving my body its best shot will mean I can exert some sort of constructive influence in the world.

So here’s an update on my vegan month: the hardest day I’m likely to have came and went on the 2nd, when we had some family over. My mum made one of her exquisite lasagnes and salmon with lentils. I have written a poem about the lasagne – that’s how delicious it is. However, I made a spinach, mushroom, chickpea potato curry. The soft mushrooms with fluffy chickpeas varied the texture and it had lots of flavours bouncing around. For pudding I watched Mum dish out slices of a cranberry elderflower cake, a pavlova and a cheesecake and then settled down to my pomegranate half.

It was reassuring to have my twin by my side so we could share a small bout of nostalgia for times past when we did eat the lasagne. Yet aside from when I had a lasagne thrust under my nose for four hours, I have not missed meat, although I did not eat that much anyway. I feel happier now that the lurid packets of biscuits and chocolate actually can’t tempt me.

Here’s my recipe for easy peasy, delicious vegetable curry. I don’t think there is one recipe for an easy peasy, fabulous 2016, but hey. Try and concoct your own.

Serves 3

Vegetable oil
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp turmeric
1 tsp garam masala
1 tsp curry powder
1 tsp chilli powder
Two handfuls of mushrooms (I used closed cup)
Half a can of chickpeas
One can of chopped tomatoes
200g spinach
9 small new potatoes

  1. Fry all the spices in a small amount of oil, then add the mushrooms and a splash more oil.
  2. After a few mins, add the chickpeas.
  3. When the chickpeas are heated through add the chopped tomatoes.
  4. Let it simmer for a while to let the flavours merge.
  5. Cut the potatoes into quarters and put them on to boil.
  6. When they’re cooked, add them and the spinach to the curry and stir till the spinach is wilted.
  7. Serve and enjoy.

sailing

 

 

2 thoughts on “Spinchickmushpot curry

  1. Pingback: Chickpea and Vegetable Curry | Andrew in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

