Sharing hot chocolate is caring

I’m going to get straight to the point: we need to talk about hot chocolate. Emphasis on the we (and I guess on the drink too). The weather is calling for it, and so is my imagination. I’ve left my French hot chocolate reverie and I’m determined to scoot out the most mind-blowing chocolate drinks the food blogging world has to offer.

Hot chocolate is a misnomer. How simple it sounds, how straightforward. It was even reasonably okay when all the syrups came in: the Starbucks caramel hot chocolate which, when I think about, I have to fight back the hurl that comes from deep within my stomach; the mint hot chocolate which continues to be one of my faves; the boozy ones which I’ve been too boring and timid to try. But since the dairy revolution, the variables of the hot chocolate have exploded. Almond, hazelnut, coconut, oat, all would noticeably alter this potion of cocoa and sugar.

On Sunday, simplicity was the order of the day. Recipe as follows:

  • 1 ½ teaspoon cocoa powder (I used Food Thoughts which you can read about here and here).
  • 1 ½ teaspoon white sugar
  • Half a teaspoon of vanilla essence
  • A mug of skimmed milk

Add the dry ingredients with a splash of milk to form a paste. Add the remaining milk and vanilla essence. Place in microwave for 2 mins or until hot.

DSCN2350

There simply weren’t enough ingredients to hide any rubbishy chocolate powder, so I was lucky to have Food Thoughts Cocoa powder which has an intenseness that quells my desire for chocolate. The skimmed milk added to this rawness. The vanilla gave a subtle sweetness and a blushing aroma which I loved. I added cinnamon to my hot choc earlier this week and that was also a treat for the nose, although the taste did not change that much.

I’ve seen some recipes for orange hot chocolate, Mexican hot chocolate, even pumpkin hot chocolate, but I really want to try one using almond essence – ambrosial, marzipan-like hot chocolate.

Please comment with your hot chocolate recipes and we can make a sort of compendium that would make Willy Wonka’s brain cogs switch into rollercoaster mode.

Lizzy xx

2 thoughts on “Sharing hot chocolate is caring

  1. Pingback: Bounty cupcake recipe – …or failing that, food

  2. Pingback: My bounteous vegan cupcakes – …or failing that, food

Leave a Reply

