Marble cake recipe using Food Thoughts cocoa powder!

I hope everyone enjoyed the soggy bank holiday weekend! Personally I love the rain, so it was a rather indulgent weekend weather-wise for me. Lots of walks, green leaves and soggy feet. I also enjoyed an almost entirely home-grown roast dinner thanks to the lovely Ella which featured lamb shoulder, sweet potato mash, roasted veg and some divine fig rolls with oaty dough.

I brought my marble cake round as well – which I baked using Food Thoughts Cocoa powder which I was sent in the post! All v exciting, especially as my post consists only of bank statements. Food Thoughts Cocoa Powder is not alkalized, nor do they use the ‘Dutch’ processing method and so it contains so potassium carbonate. After reading some blogs, this means that the natural cocoa powder is slightly more acidic, but opens up the crumb structure of cakes. Dutch cocoa is much darker and apparently you use baking powder with it rather than baking soda with natural cocoa powder (which I didn’t do but I like my cake!)

When I opened the pot the most gorgeous, rich, chocolatey smell wafted up my nose, which I have never experienced with cocoa powder! My mum, who is more of a baking veteran, was also surprised by it, which is a good sign. The chocolate parts of my marble cake were strong according to my tasters, which is always a plus.

DSCN2186

Because of its responsible ethics (Fairtrade, supporting family farms in the Dominican Republic) it really can’t leave a bad taste in your mouth! It is also organic, which some would argue brings health benefits.

Amid warnings from my mum that marble cake can be rather dry, I added a spoonful of natural yoghurt to the mix, and added some milk along with the cocoa powder to the chocolate mix to combat the dryness induced by adding a dry ingredient (normally cocoa powder replaces the flour, hence why the cake can be a bit dryer!) I topped it with apricot glaze and desiccated coconut for extra glam. The recipe quantities come from Mrs P’s Kitchen, which is a really cool blog with Western and HK/Chinese cooking!

DSCN2188

220 grams plain flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

170 gram unsalted butter

200 gram sugar

2 eggs

1 tablespoon natural yoghurt

3 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 tablespoon milk

2 tablespoons apricot glaze

Desiccated coconut

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees C or 160 if your oven, like mine, is quite strong.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy, then mix in the eggs.
  3. Add the flour, baking powder, salt and beat until you’re happy with the consistency.
  4. Mix in the yoghurt.
  5. Divide the mix into two, then add the cocoa powder and milk to one and beat until there are no lumps.
  6. Grease your tin if you need to, then spoon alternate mixes into the tin.
  7. Swoosh your knife through the mixes until it looks marbly.
  8. Bake in the oven for 40-60 minutes – a big cooking window but every oven is different and you don’t want to over bake the top!
  9. When cooled, melt the apricot glaze and spread it on the top of the cake.
  10. Shake the desiccated coconut on top.

Let me know your thoughts, and thank you Food Thoughts for your delicious cocoa powder! It’s been a treat using it.

DSCN2192 DSCN2191 DSCN2189

5 thoughts on “Marble cake recipe using Food Thoughts cocoa powder!

  1. Pingback: Fodmap-free banana pancakes (flipping easy too!!) | …or failing that, food

  2. Pingback: Sharing hot chocolate is caring | …or failing that, food

  3. Pingback: Bounty cupcake recipe – …or failing that, food

  4. Pingback: My bounteous vegan cupcakes – …or failing that, food

Leave a Reply

